Chocolate Chip Cookies!!!

Image

Admit it! You dip into the cookie jar for a Chocolate Chip Cookie when the kids aren’t looking. I do it all the time. And I end up feeling so guilty.

The last time we went on a holiday with the whole family, we stayed at this resort where they had the most amazing chocolate chip cookies for breakfast. The first bite and I was in Cookie Heaven.

The first day, I discovered the cookie as I was doing a last circle of the buffet table, so I could stuff down just a couple. The next day, I made sure the children finished their breakfast before I started mine (didn’t want to give them a bad example. Ha-ha). I took a piece of toast and nibbled on it just for show, and then I went back and loaded up on cookies.

Image

Before we left the resort, I asked for their recipe. The one they gave was really in bulk; 1 kilos of sugar, 2 kilos of flour and so on. I have tried and pared it down to size. I mix 2 or 3 batches, bake about one batch and freeze the rest. That way you can bake cookies at the spur of the moment.

Ingredients

1 and 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 ounces (115gm) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg (beaten)
1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, cashews, whichever you like)

Method

Sieve the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) and keep aside. Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy. Add the egg and fold gently. Next add the vanilla. Then fold in the dry ingredients. Lastly add the chocolate chips and nuts.

Next divide the dough into 3, wrap in cling film and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. I prefer to leave it overnight. You get thicker, chewier cookies with better flavour when you chill the dough. It’s also easy to shape into balls when cold.

Image

When you want to bake the cookies, unwrap the dough and shape into small balls. They will expand, so try and keep it small, about an inch across. If it sticks to your hands, dampen your palms with a few drops of water between each cookie.

Place on a tray about an inch from each other and bake for about 15 minutes. Cookies will still be soft when done; don’t worry, they will firm up on cooling.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

